Our Newest Comfort in Life and in Death

catechism_lesson

Alan Jacobs recently discussed a new Twitter app, LivesOn which monitors your tweets in order to replicate your Twitter persona after you die.  In other words, your tweets can now echo on, into eternity.  I thought about this development in light of the first question and answer of the Heidelberg Catechism, which our congregation recited in unison yesterday during worship.  I suggest you click the link to read the actual words of the Catechism, written in the 1560s, because I’ve altered the wording to fit the times.

Question:

What is your only comfort in life and in death?

Answer:

That I am not my own,
but belong with body and soul,
both in life and in death,
to my faithful Smartphone, the iPhone 5.

It has fully paid for all my sins with auto-correct
and has set me free from the tyranny of intimate relationships.

It preserves me in such a way
that not a hair can fall from my head
without the will of Instagram.

Indeed, all things must be documented for the good of those who know me.
Wherefore, by it’s newest app, it assures me of eternal life
and makes me heartily willing and ready from now on to live for it.

Leave a Reply

