Life is a Grain of Salt on a Tone Generator.

When I watched this video I resonated (pun intended) with a grain of salt on that large metallic plate.  Considering the events of the last decade, there are moments when life seemed as chaotic, as random, and as painful as if someone threw me down and cranked up the pitch on the proverbial tone generator beneath my feet.  For example, bouncing around from place to place has been an adventure but, for me, always involved an unsettled anxiety about having no lasting commitment to a place and its people.   Confronting broken relationships and  the loss of loved ones has been painful and often led me to question the seeming randomness of life.

Every life has its own bumps.

But the pitch of the tone generator is changing, and a pattern is emerging. In this pattern, I am a settled grain of salt with my wife in Austin, Texas.  We are apart from family, but a part of a great community.

This short video revealed to me an important truth:  beautiful patterns do not emerge despite the bumps in life, but because of them.  Perhaps this is why James reminds us:

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.

tone_generator

One thought on “Life is a Grain of Salt on a Tone Generator.

Leave a Reply

